Awards & Recognition
2023 Awards 

The CAHPERD Awards program is designed to recognize members for outstanding and noteworthy achievements, contributions and/or service to the organization and/or the profession.  Award recipients must be current members of CAHPERD, unless the award criterion stipulates otherwise.   

All Award Applications are Due November 15, 2022

Verne Landreth Award Material  -  Nominees are clearly outstanding in their profession, exemplifying the highest achievement in service, research, teaching, or administration. This is the highest and most prestigious award offered by CAHPERD. Past Verne Landreth Award Recipients

Keith Johannes Honor Award Material - Candidates exemplify the spirit of devoted service and, by their leadership and industry, have made outstanding and noteworthy contributions to the advancement of the profession. Past Honor Award Recipients   

Phyllis A. Blatz Exemplary Leadership Award Material   – Honors individuals who have provided unique and distinguished leadership to CAHPERD over a minimum of fifteen (15) years in any or all levels of jurisdiction, or within other aspects or projects of the Association. Past Phyllis A. Blatz Award Recipients

Council Awards

Adapted Physical Education  - Nick Breit Professional Recognition – Candidates shall be individuals who have made significant contributions in, or to, the field of Adapted Physical Education.

Clark Hetherington Honor Award   - Recognizes individuals for outstanding leadership and significant contributions to their school system and/or community. Candidates shall have served in administrative positions in school, college, or community programs for a period of at least five (5) years prior to nomination.

Emmett Ashford Community Spirit Award    - Candidates demonstrate the characteristics of Emmett Ashford’s legacy.  (See nomination form for detailed description.) The nominee should be someone from the community in which the Annual CAHPERD Conference is held for the nominating year (2023 - Santa Clara).

Award for Distinguished Service to Recreation    – Recognizes a member or friend of CAHPERD who has demonstrated outstanding service to the recreation profession.

Professional Dance Educator of the Year    – Recognizes a college or university professor who has a major responsibility for teaching all dance forms, (except aerobic dance).

Program of the Year Award  - The Outstanding Middle School and Secondary School Physical Education Program of the Year (POY) Award recognizes physical education programs of excellence through a process of self-assessment by the school physical education staff. 

Teacher of the Year Awards

Teacher of the Year Application
CAHPERD has partnered with the SHAPE America Partner Network who are sponsoring CAHPERD's Teacher of the Year Program. Complete the application through the SHAPE America Link. This will help awardees in the process when moving to SHAPE America's District and National award review. Select the State Application Button near the bottom of the application webpage. 

CAHPERD Teacher of the Year Guidelines
*Send headshot and other material not required in the application link to [email protected]

School Health Education Teacher of the Year   - The selection of the recipient(s) is based on professional preparation and experience, recognitions, professional organizations, significant contributions, and overall impact on health education or school health programs.

Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  - Recognizes outstanding physical education teachers at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year  - Recognizes outstanding physical educators teaching adapted physical education to individuals with disabilities in programs for ages birth to adult.

K-12 Dance Teacher of the Year   – Recognizes educators who teach all dance forms (except aerobic dance) within grades K-12 in a school system.

Future Professional Scholarships

Scholarship Application
The deadline to submit is November 15, 2022.

Three scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded during the CAHPERD Conference, being held at the Santa Clara Hyatt, March 9-11, 2023.
Winifred Van Hagen/Rosalind Cassidy Scholarship Award
Awarded to the highest ranked applicant
John F. Kennedy Scholarship Award

Awarded to the highest ranked undergraduate applicant
James Echols Scholarship Award
Awarded to the highest ranked minority applicant (Asian, African American, Latino or Native American)

In order to qualify for one of these scholarships, an applicant must
(Subject to change):

•Be a major in Health, Physical Education, Recreation or Dance
•Have completed (or be enrolled in) a minimum of 60 semester/90 quarter
units of college work
•Be a resident of California and attend a California 2 or 4-year college/university
•Have a minimum 3.0 overall GPA
•Be a CAHPERD member for a minimum of 30 days prior to application deadline
•Student recipients must wait one year before they can qualify as candidates for a
scholarship not previously awarded

Criteria for selection includes:
•Scholastic proficiency: Minimum 3.0 GPA required
•Leadership ability: In school, community, and professional activities
•Personal qualities: Enthusiasm, cooperativeness, high degree of individual
responsibility, initiative, evidence of good personal relations, and the
ability to work with others

Applicants must submit:
1. Completed application form
2. Three letters of recommendation
3. Transcripts of all college work (unofficial transcript or other verification of units completed by university enrollment services)